Guardians of Time – Marianne Curley

I’m going with a really old favourite for today’s very short blog post. I read Marianne Curley’s Guardians of Time trilogy when I was around thirteen or fourteen, and I loved it. It incorporates two of my favourite things in life: history and fantasy. I don’t know how famous or popular it is as a trilogy, but it is a brilliant young adult series in my opinion. Like so many of my favourite books, there have been times when I have been tempted to go back and re-read it. I think it will be difficult to convey how good I found this series is through a blog post. Also I’m a little bit sketchy on the details; I haven’t read it in many years, so you’ll have to forgive me if I seem a little vague at times. But it is a brilliant series that would definitely appeal to both sexes, due to the fact that it has both strong female and male leads.

Set in a fictional town in Australia named Angel Falls, it follows a group of young teenagers who each possess certain magical abilities, such as truthseeing, healing, agelessness and the ability to animate objects. They, along with others, make up a group of individuals known as The Guard. Tasked with the job of defeating another group called the Order of Chaos, the teenagers are each part of an ancient prophecy. In addition to their own individual powers, the group are also capable of time travel – more specifically, travelling back in time.

The Order of Chaos is determined to rule by using the past as a weapon; they attempt to alter events in the past, so it will have a catastrophic domino effect that will rule in their favour. It is the duty of The Guard to observe the past, and look for any signs that the Order may be attempting to change the course of history. When a disturbance is noted, a group of the Guard will have their appearances altered, and be sent back to prevent any changes from occurring.

The narration of the series moves between five of the main characters in the series: Ethan, Isabel, Matt, Rochelle and Arkarian. The first four are from the town of Angel Falls, while Arkarian is one of the more senior members of the Guard who guides and instructs them throughout the series. Their relationships range from siblings to old friends to love interests. Throughout the series, their lives constantly overlap and affect one another, along with the lives of minor characters also. They also make up the bulk of the prophecy.

I loved the idea of the Guardians of Time trilogy right away. It was unlike any series I had read prior to it; I found it to be an original and thought-provoking idea. It’s fast paced, filled with action, and has more than one good plot twist. The author’s idea of using the past really intrigued me. Add in an ancient prophecy and some magical abilities into the mix and I was sold on the idea of Marianne Curley’s books. It’s an interesting series, and a good one to read if you’re looking for a young adult series that’s a little bit different.

Happy Reading!

Brianna.

Leave a Reply

