My little reading list

As an avid reader, I’m never in short supply of books I want to read. Listed on my phone, and slotted away in the back of my mind, are pages upon pages of novels I one day want to read when I finally get the time. I am approaching the stage now when I will at last be finished with a fantasy series that has dominated my attention for quite some time, and I can now see, just beyond it, the massive amount of reading material that has built up over time. Books that I received as gifts, or that I bought myself, sit waiting patiently around my room waiting to be opened.

I am a fan of lists, as I’m sure anyone who knows me will tell you. I write lists for almost everything, the most trivial of things warrants a list in my mind, and I enjoy reading lists. But sometimes, they can be too long-winded. I was fully aware that when I set out to write this blog post I would never be able to write down all of the novels I plan to read in the future – even for the rest of the year. There would just be too many, and you would grow bored reading about them a quarter of the way down. So instead I decided I would post a mini reading list of sorts, a taster of what’s to come.

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green: The heart-breaking novel about the love story between young cancer sufferer Hazel and Augustus Waters has been pulling at my attention for quite some time now. I have been tempted to watch the film just to find out what makes it appealing to so many people, but like most bookworms, I know deep down that the book will probably be much better. So I’d rather hold out and wait. Not entirely sure that I would make it my holiday read, however; I don’t want to be caught blubbering by the poolside, trying to hide red eyes behind my sunglasses.

Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy: Take 3, I believe. Honestly, I don’t know why I have to go at this novel a third time to finally finish it, because I really, really liked what I read the first two times around. I managed to get more than halfway through it on both occasions, and then just gave up for some reason. It might have been school work, or it might have been that I was going through a phase when I preferred watching television to reading for some strange reason. But I am determined to finish it this time around. The tragic and timeless love story of Anna Karenina and Count Vronsky, set against the gorgeous backdrop of Russian high society, has been near the top of my list for quite some time now.

Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien: I am ashamed to admit it, but I have never read perhaps the most famous fantasy series of all time, despite being a huge fan of the fantasy genre. Oh, I’ve seen the films multiple times; I could probably act out every scene for you, word for word. Lord of the Rings marathons are one of the best ways to spend your day off. But the novels are something I will have to read before this year is over.

Gone With the Wind – Margaret Mitchell: I absolutely adore the film version of this, and have watched it every Christmas for many years now. The film is a wonderfully layered one; there’s humour, and tragedy, and all sorts of forbidden and unrequited loves. And it’s a great survival story. The story follows the life of the vivacious and spoilt Scarlett O’Hara and self-assured soldier Rhett Butler through the turmoil that the American Civil War caused in the Plantation South. I obviously don’t know what the book is like yet, but if the film is anything to go by then it should be a superb read.

Wide Sargasso Sea – Jean Rhys: this novel was first brought to my attention when I was studying Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre in school. I loved the story of Jane herself, and am a fan of the Brontë sisters in general. So I was interested to find that someone had written a prequel of sorts to the classic 19th century novel, and in doing so adding another dimension to the story. While reading Jane Eyre it can become easy to be whisked away by the classic love story between plain Miss Eyre and the dark Mr Rochester, and almost forget about the mystery that almost pulls them apart. Wide Sargasso Sea sets out to tell the story behind poor Bertha Mason, and suggests that the story of her insanity may not be as one sided as was believed for so long.

This is just the tip of the iceberg, really.

Happy Reading!

Brianna.

Leave a Reply

